Referendum–Season of Prayer with the People of Sudan

A friend sent me this information from the ELCA (Evangelical Lutheran Church Association) regarding the Season of Prayer with the People of Sudan. I am sharing this to raise your awareness of the upcoming referendum where Southern Sudan has an opportunity to vote for independence from the North. This is an opportunity for joint prayer with people in Sudan if you wish to join with them.

deb
—– Original Message —–

Sent: Monday, November 29, 2010 3:13 PM
Subject: A Season of Prayer with the People of Sudan
Evangelical Lutheran Church in America

Prayer is always in order for the people of Sudan. Prayers are particularly in order as January, 2011 draws near.

Why?

A referendum on self-determination for the people of South Sudan is scheduled for January 9. On that same day, a referendum is also scheduled for the Abyei region where the people will vote on the question of whether to retain Abyei’s special administrative status in the north or become part of Southern Sudan.

What Can You Do?

Our sisters and brothers in Sudan are in prayer now and will continue in prayer until, through, and after the referendum. We have a number of opportunities to join them. One is through the Season of Prayer with the People of Sudan. In this initiative, a number of faith communities will come together in prayer in Sudan and in the United States in the month before the election.
Specifically, we are invited to pray for thirty minutes on:

Friday, December 3
Friday, December 10
Friday, December 17
Friday, December 24
Friday, December 31
Friday, January 7
Saturday, January 8
Sunday, January 9
Monday, January 10

Our sisters and brothers in Sudan will pray at 6:00 p.m. in their country. In the United States, we would join them by praying at Noon (EST); 11:00 a.m. (CST); 10:00 a.m. (MST); 9:00 a.m. (PST). Many in Sudan plan to engage in the spiritual discipline of fasting on January 7 through 9. If this is a spiritual discipline that speaks to you, consider joining them.
This season of prayer is open to all people. Pray wherever you are; pray individually or gather with your community or an ecumenical community or an interfaith community; pray in a manner you feel comfortable praying.
Please feel free to share this invitation widely.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s